Cured Tuna, Bacon, and What’s Hangin!

January 28, 2007

I have just cured 2 small tuna loins with Kosher salt , sugar, and a spice mix of bay leaf, thyme, juniper, garlic for 3 days.One with nitrite and one is without. After curing I stuffed them into Beef middles which will be cold smoked over Alderwood tomorrow and then left to age until they are firm like salami.
I will also be smoking Bacon sides tomorrow.
100_0731.jpg

What’s Hangin!
100_0733.jpg
Chorizo
Salami
Venison w/Juniper and Black current
Pancetta
and Lomo
100_0732.jpg

2 Responses to “Cured Tuna, Bacon, and What’s Hangin!”

  1. Sally D Says:

    I do most of my bbq in the back garden, I use a Buschbeck barbecue and get it cooks some great meals, I am not a fish fish fan but I love meat and the curing process is fascinating, I will try this myself.

  2. Luca Says:

    Hi, my name is Luca and just recently stumbled upon your website and I wanted to both congratulate you on your new location and to also ask a question.
    I currently work in San Diego in a restaurant called tendergrens and our chef has been doing cured meats in there for a bit (we’ve got spek, coppa, bresaola and prosciutto hanging right now!), and I was interested in asking how you did the cured tuna: we get fresh albacore here and it would be nice to try that preparation. I’m assuming you treated the loin like you would a whole muscle type of salumi like bresaola.
    thank you in advance and if you ever happen to be in the San Diego area come and check us out!
    ciao
    Luca


Leave a Reply

